top of page

From hairy hobbit to silky smooth: My body hair journey

As the sun starts to make an appearance and the days reach a toasty 12 degrees in Scotland, that can only mean one thing: Taps aff, legs oot.

And for many of us that will involve the pain staking task of removing every hair visible to the naked eye.

I’ve always had more body hair than most (which I put down to my autoimmune thyroid condition, despite hair loss being the more common symptom) and it's something I've always been insecure about.

I’m talking thick, dark hairs that appear to grow back the very day I shave.

Hairy legs, underarms, bikini line, snail trail, pesky chin hairs and peach fuzz on my face; where there's a follicle, there's a hair (although the cruel joke is I haven't been blessed with thick bushy brows- rude).

And the task of removing these hairs is not only laboursome and time consuming but can be very painful.


I was doing all the right things; trialling and testing different creams, shaving gels, balms, men’s razors, women’s razors, hair removal creams, waxing, even an epilator- which is quite literally the devil in machine form (I think it took me a full 40 minutes to do one half leg before I gave up- in the words of Simon Cowell, it's a no from me). But it all left me itchy, blotchy, bleeding, stinging and in pain. I’d want to cover my legs up but anything rubbing against them hurt and made them worse, and so I’d have to rock my red raw pins out for all to see.

I like to make a night of my IPL sessions with Netflix, a cuppa and a snack (that's an Apricot Danish if you're wondering)
I like to make a night of my IPL sessions with Netflix, a cuppa and a snack (that's an Apricot Danish if you're wondering)

It was these moments where some friends would innocently make jokes, which I laughed off (defo crying inside). One male friend commented that the next time I wanted to wear shorts I could at least shave. I was 16, mortified- and just freshly shaved. I was still equally as embarrassed when at the age of 21 my friend pointed out that my summer ready pins resembled a plucked chicken.

It should go without saying- and while I know my friends were having innocent jabs- but it’s never our prerogative to comment on people’s bodies. Be it weight gain, weight loss, cellulite, stretch marks, birth marks, scars, acne, body acne or body hair. This should be a given, and it should constitute all year round every year, but this year more than ever as many people may be extra anxious about venturing outdoors post pandemic and showing off possible insecurities. People are allowed to peel off the winter layers and be able to enjoy the sunshine without feeling like a display at a museum. A wise person once told me: "Don't comment on someone's appearance unless they can fix it in five seconds or less"- i.e, spinach in between their teeth, cake crumbs around their mouth or a bogie. Now, I don't know about you but I haven't quite mastered how to shave in under five seconds- although if you know a way, please let my parents know so they can have their bathroom back in record time after I announce "I'm off for a quick shower".


While I support women ditching the razors in opt of an au naturale look, I personally don’t feel confident or my best self unless I am as smooth as a slippery dolphin, which is why I’m even more grateful to have found the answer to my prayers in the Philips Lumea Prestige Intense Pulsed Light (IPL) hair removal device.

As a quick definition, Intense Pulsed Light therapy uses high-intensity (but gentle) pulses of light to prevent hair regrowth; the hair absorbs the light, destroying the follicle which inhibits hair growth. Repeating the treatment over a period of time should see a reduction in hair growth.

I bought the Philips Lumea (model BR1956 for those wondering) a few years ago now after toing and froing between laser hair removal by a professional or an IPL device.

It is on the pricey side but I told myself I had nothing to lose after exhausting all other methods; plus this was also an investment. After years of painful hair removal, insecurity and never fully enjoying myself while wearing clothing that showed off my bare legs, I thought you can’t put a price on the happiness confidence in yourself brings.

The Philips Lumea IPL is fuss-free, pain-free and easy to use
The Philips Lumea IPL is fuss-free, pain-free and easy to use

This pain-free machine literally changed my life. I went from having thick, dark, spiky hairs and painful pores post-shave to hairless smooth legs that lasted DAYS. I had never known what it was like to have hairless legs for more than a single day- and now I could go a full week without shaving (that's a holiday!). Not only did I bask in the hairlessness for days but when my hair did grow back they grew/ grow back in more finely, therefore easier to remove the next time.

The SmartSkin sensor recommends the best setting for your skin tone, but can be manually adjusted
The SmartSkin sensor recommends the best setting for your skin tone, but can also be manually adjusted

The Philips Lumea Prestige comes with; four attachments, each used to target a different part of the body including for body, face, bikini and underarms; a SmartSkin sensor for extra safety (so you’re not starting out using the wrong setting), and works both cordless and plugged in.

There is even a coaching app that you can download to get a personalised treatment schedule and reminders.

There are a lot of cautions and warnings (and rightly so; I think it’s the only instruction manual I have ever properly read through) as this device is not for everyone; including not using the device if you are pregnant and/ or breastfeeding, diabetic, have a pacemaker, have epilepsy with flashlight sensitivity, and it may not be suitable for your skin or body hair colour. The list is not exhaustive, so best to consult your doctor if you’re not sure.

And of course the treatment works best if you stick to a schedule; Philips recommend once every two weeks for the first four to five treatments then every four to eight weeks for touch-ups. I think all in it takes me about 30 mins to IPL both (full) legs, so I like to make a pamper night out of it with Netflix in the background, a cuppa and snack; heck why not pop on a facemask why you're at it too #treatyoself.


I hope this post has not only shed some light on an IPL hair removal device but serves as a reminder that body hair is natural and more than okay to have, despite what society may have drilled into us as young girls. I hope wherever you venture this summer- be it a beer garden, staycation, or dare I say it abroad(?) - you have the courage to embrace your body in all its glory. Wear the shorts.


Speak soon,

Wee Eb



412 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page